Now that the 2013 NHL draft is over, I've turned my attention to the league's collection of development camps. I love tracking these every summer because I think it's important (and fun) to see which undrafted goalies are catching the eyes of NHL scouts. It's also important to track these camps because there's a good chance one or two of them will earn an entry-level contract.

I don't know the numbers before 2010, but as we know, last summer's development camps opened the door for both Andrey Makarov and Michael Houser to earn entry-level contracts, despite the fact they were both passed over by all 30 NHL teams a few weeks earlier. In 2010, OHL standout J.P. Anderson earned a contract after a strong showing in the Young Stars Tournament in Penticton.

I was able to attend Minnesota's development camp last summer, and that gave me a great opportunity to evaluate Johan Gustafsson, Joe Howe, and Mackenzie Skapski (now with the Rangers). I will be attending their development camp again this month, from July 9-14.

The list below will be updated with links and names as they become available. Please leave a comment if you see any mistakes or omissions. Names that are in red italics are unrestricted free agents, or potentially still draft-eligible.

*Check out super-fan "sk84fun_dc" and his collection of free-agent development camp invitations, which includes skaters as well.

ANAHEIM: Frederik Andersen, Igor Bobkov, John Gibson, Etienne Marcoux (source)

BOSTON: Zane Gothberg, Adam Morisson, Malcolm Subban

BUFFALO: Cal Petersen, Andrey Makarov, Linus Ullmark, Nathan Lieuwen, Connor Knapp

CALGARY: Laurent Brossoit, Reto Berra, Jon Gillies, Joni Ortio, Brody Hoffman

CAROLINA: Daniel Altshuller, Collin Olson, Austin Lotz (source)

CHICAGO: Mac Carruth, Brandon Whitney, Antti Raanta, Kent Simpson, Matt Tomkins, Matt O'Connor, Jackson Whistle

COLORADO: Off-ice camp (source), Spencer Martin (source)

COLUMBUS: Oscar Dansk, Anton Forsberg, Joonas Korpisalo, Martin Ouellette

DALLAS: Henri Kiviaho, Maxime Lagace, Cab Morris, Ty Rimmer, John Keeney. Includes goalie coach guest Pasco Valana.

DETROIT: Jake Paterson, Andrew D'Agostini (source), Jake Patterson (source), Tony Eskelinen (source)

EDMONTON: Tyler Bunz, Frans Tuohimaa, Troy Trombley, Franky Palazzese (source)

FLORDIA: Sam Brittain, Evan Cowley, Sergei Gayduchenko, Michael Houser

LOS ANGELES: J-F Berube, Patrik Bartosak, Mathias Niederberger, Alex Fotinos

MINNESOTA: Alexandre Belanger, Johan Gustafsson, Stephen Michalek, Tony Capobianco

MONTREAL: Peter Delmas, Mike Condon, Zach Fucale, Louis-Philip Guindon (source), Philippe Cadorette (source), Jordan DeKort

NASHVILLE: Magnus Hellberg, Janne Juvonen, Marek Mazanec, Juuse Saros

NEW JERSEY: Anthony Brodeur, Scott Wedgewood, Brandon Hope (source), Jake Hildebrand

NY ISLANDERS: Eamon McAdam, Kenny Reiter, Anders Nilsson, Joel Rumpel

NY RANGERS: Mackenzie Skapski, Ryan Faragher, Jeff Malcolm, Eric Levine

OTTAWA: Francois Brassard, Chris Driedger, Andrew Hammond, Marcus Hogberg, Branden Komm

PHILADELPHIA: Carsen Chubak, Cal Heeter, Merrick Madsen, Anthony Stolarz, Matt Skoff, Ryan McKay

PHOENIX: Louis Domingue, Mark Visentin, Brendan Burke, Marek Langhamer

PITTSBURGH: Tristan Jarry, Eric Hartzell

SAN JOSE: J.P. Anderson, Fredrik Bergvik, Troy Grosenick, Steve Racine


TAMPA BAY: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Adam Wilcox, Kristers Gudlevskis, Eric Brassard

TORONTO: Antoine Bibeau, Garret Sparks, Christopher Gibson, Charlie Millen

VANCOUVER: Joe Cannata, Joacim Eriksson, Mathieu Corbeil, Philippe Trudeau (source), Sam Marotta (source)

WASHINGTON: Brandon Anderson, Sergei Kostenko, Louis-Philip Guindon (source), Clarke Saunders

WINNIPEG: Eric Comrie, Connor Hellebuyck, Jason Kasdorf, Jamie Phillips, Juho Olkinuora, Charlie Lindgren (source)

Share →